Anybody got a spare anvil?

Standard

CAM00328-1Aargh. Frustration. On my new-found quest to perform a pull-up, I recently purchased the GoFit Elevated ChinUp Station. It looked like the right tool for the job: a doorway-hung chin-up bar with a couple of different grips. Nothin’ fancy. What appealed to me the most was its alluring promise of easy installation: “Mounts in Doorway As Easy As 1, 2, 3! – 1. Place, 2. Hang, 3. Workout!”

Oh yeah, I thought. That’s for me. Workout and practice and sweat and strain and bit by bit, someday, reach that glorious and elusive benchmark of amateur female fitness: the ability to pull oneself upI Which apparently most boys, sprung from the womb, can do without thinking twice about it. Go figure. You never heard Gloria Steinem kvetch about that little inequality.

Anyway, I put it together (wait! had to go buy a wrench first! but that delay only sweetened the anticipation), excitedly went to hang it up, and discovered that my apartment doorframes are not wide enough to support the little plastic bar which supports the weight of the whole thing and, presumably, me. Aargh.

rr3Now, feeling cunning and un-outsmartable, kinda like Wile E. Coyote, I’m scheming: How to make this thing work? Don’t want to return it. Perhaps a couple of metal brackets installed in the doorframe? Maybe a strip of wood to widen it? Maybe some Acme Chinup-Bar Glue? Perhaps just drop an anvil on the damn thing and call it a day? Any ideas?

What’s your most frustrating/disappointing/dumbest fitness equipment purchase?

Leave a comment